Author  Topic Next Topic
Page: of 4

Willys Dad

USA
139 Posts

Posted - 05/11/2008 :  08:37:47 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by GregB
Just wondering out loud here, as I have no experience at breeding and am not a genetic scientist, which path is correct? The positions are fairly at odds. Thanks

The correct path has a lot to do with the breeders goals. If a breeder is looking to set a type or reduce variability in type (geno or pheno), then inbreeding/linebreeding is the tool that is used. If hybrid vigor is the goal, then outcrossing is what needs be done. It isn't a simple as "correct path". It's still a game of craps. Just rolling the dice.
Chris

The more people I meet the more I like dogs and their people.

Edited by - Willys Dad on 05/11/2008 08:48:03 AM
Go to Top of Page

GregB

148 Posts

Posted - 05/12/2008 :  7:49:04 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I guess what I mean by correct path, I'm thinking what yields the progressively best sled dog? To constantly improve the abilities of a sled dog, hybrid vigor seems to be a logical path. But from everything I have read, it is really a roll of the dice, as you have suggested.

Line breeding is great if you are sure what you have is the best there is, because essentially a large part of that strategy is reproducing (or nearly reproducing) what you have.

And maybe the above are the two primary strategies that need to be used at given times in the life of a kennel. I do think that line breeding, at least for trying to better the physical ability of sled dogs, is an eventual dead end. But the citation of horse pedigrees, previously, would seem to refute that. Unless there are outcrosses for many of the horse generations cited. I'm also assuming that the physical ability of horses is getting better.

Just noodling along......

Greg
Go to Top of Page

Dougskijors

Canada
573 Posts

Posted - 05/13/2008 :  11:00:25 AM  Show Profile  Visit Dougskijors's Homepage  Reply with Quote