Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

MegC

USA
1321 Posts

Posted - 01/08/2003 :  12:21:52 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Many thanks to Kirsten Ballard for sending me a picture of her outrageously cool backcountry pulk made by Bernie Willis!

Edited by - MegC on 01/08/2003 12:23:24 PM

n/a

1193 Posts

Posted - 01/08/2003 :  2:48:59 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
O.K. Enlighten us. What is special about this. I'm new to skijoring and I've never really understood the concept of the pulk myself. Norwegian dog sled right? I just purchase a skijoring belt and line and someday when we get snow I'll try it. But why use a pulk instead of a sled? This looks like a quality peice of equipment but why is it better. Thanks.

May you all find the peace I've found in the wilderness.
Go to Top of Page

MegC

USA
1321 Posts

Posted - 01/08/2003 :  3:26:18 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Pulks allow you to both carry gear and ski with the dogs. Right now it's really hard to find pulk in the US... we're stuck having to carry any gear in a backpack, which throws balance off considerably if it's heavy and reduces how much one can carry. The other choice is making a pulk in the garage with your own three hands.

It CAN be done by attaching a regular sled between you and the dogs, but without a hand brake you're stuck having to stop and take off your skis to slow down, which is interesting if you suddenly go down a big hill or the dogs wind game of course. The long tails on the runners also require some coordination to keep from tripping yourself up (although I've done it successfully).

The picture of the Fjellpulken pulk higher up on the page I linked shows a hand brake assembly in detail. Basically it's a prong brake with a driving bow type handle you can ski up to and lean down on. Many other european models are racing pulks made out of fiberglass and without a brake.