New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 7

sabakarunner

Canada
23 Posts

Posted - 02/16/2011 :  11:23:14 PM  Show Profile  Visit sabakarunner's Homepage  Reply with Quote
So what is it folks? I read an interesting article today which stated that the Siberian should have a nice efficient trot for the best workability and the a gallop is not important. This sounds to me like an argument coming from a show person. I'm fairly new to this, and I only see the major flaws in a gait when the dog is moving at a gallop. Hence why some people, including myself, would argue that the Sibes should be judged at a gallop in the show ring. Is it fair to say that a dog with a good gallop will have a nice trot?

Furthermore, what should we be breeding for in our working lines? Gallop or trot? The working lines of Siberians today are beginning to look a lot like the alaskans did 15 or 20 years ago at a trot, with feet that go every which direction instead of the single tracking that is called for in the show ring. (Due to over angualted rears maybe?) This leads me to believe that breeding for an endurance trotter is against standard. But Siberians are obviously not meant for sprinting.

See here's when some of you will jump up and down and say "Burn the Standard!". But what defines the breed exactly?

In the attempt to breed faster Siberians, I see the serious working kennels getting away from the traditional siberian look altogether. Sure the dogs are papered, but if we continue to breed long legs to long legs enough and eventually we will all be running giraffes.